Entries by gregrandall

Medical students recognize clerkship coordinator at convocation

Medical students honored at the College of Community Health Sciences’s annual Senior Convocation decided to recognize a staff member who they felt made an impact on their education. Ashley Justice, clerkship coordinator and administrative secretary for the Department of Internal Medicine, was recognized by the graduating medical students for her dedication and commitment to medical […]

Rural Medical Scholars honored at convocation

Members of the College’s Rural Medical Scholars Class of 2014-15 were recognized April 17 at the Rural Health Scholars Convocation, held at the Hotel Capstone on The University of Alabama campus. The seven members of the class will begin their first year of medical school this summer at the University of Alabama School of Medicine’s main […]

Rural Medical Scholar receives UA award for service

Allison Montgomery, a recent graduate of the College of Community Health Sciences’s current Rural Medical Scholars class, was awarded the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award, the highest honor given to a University of Alabama student as a recognition of excellence in character and service to humanity. Montgomery, of Talladega, Ala., is a Biology major and will […]

New faculty to fill leadership roles

Dr. Thomas Weida joins the College of Community Health Sciences this summer as associate dean of Clinical Affairs and Chief Medical Officer, assuming a major leadership and administrative role, particularly in the College’s clinical enterprise. His wife, Dr. Jane Weida, also joins the College this summer as associate director of The University of Alabama Family […]

College hosts annual Research and Scholarly Activity Day

A total of 42 posters were presented by College of Community Health Sciences’s faculty, staff, resident physicians, medical students and graduate students at its 7th annual Research and Scholarly Activity Day April 9. Winners were named in three categories: Faculty and Staff 1st Place—Thad Ulzen, MD, Gordon Donnir, MD, John C. Higginbotham, PhD, Laurence Jerome, […]