Mission Moment: Boxmeyer receives UA Faculty Research Award

January 30, 2015

130124_JH_Caroline_BoxmeyerDr. Caroline Boxmeyer, associate professor in the College’s Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine, has been selected as the 2015 recipient of The University of Alabama President’s Faculty Research Award for the College of Community Health Sciences. These awards recognize select UA faculty whose research and/or scholarship represents excellence in their field. Boxmeyer is currently conducting several federally-funded research studies. These include: a project funded by the Administration of Children and Families to test a social-emotional intervention in Head Start preschools to improve children’s school readiness and family well-being; two projects funded by the National Institute on Drug Abuse, one to develop and test the Mindful Coping Power program for elementary students and their parents, and another to develop and test an internet-delivered version of the Coping Power program; and a project funded by the National Institute of Child Health and Human Development to study the short- and long-term effects of tornado exposure on children and families in Tuscaloosa. With pilot funding from the College and the University’s Division of Community Affairs, Boxmeyer is also collaborating with the Druid City Garden Project to examine the effects of its school garden curriculum on children’s plant knowledge, food choices, physical health, and academic learning and engagement. “The expansion and enhancement of scholarship within the College, including collaborative efforts with other UA faculty, is one of the four strategic priorities of the College, based upon our 2013 Strategic Plan,” says Dr. Richard Streiffer, dean of the College. “As a result, we’re starting to see more projects from our students and residents, many of them in partnership with our faculty. Dr. Boxmeyer’s skill and experience as a researcher serves as a wonderful model for others starting out along this path.” Recipients of this award from colleges across the University will be recognized at Faculty Research Day on April 8, 2015.