Residency Alumna Receives Prestigious School of Medicine Award, College faculty & Departments Honored with Argus Awards, and Publications

September 11, 2018

Residency Alumna Receives Prestigious School of Medicine Award Dr. Beverly Jordan, an alumna of The University of Alabama Family Medicine Residency, which is operated by the College of Community Health Sciences, received the Martha Myers Role Model Award from the University of Alabama School of Medicine. Jordan, who practices family and sports medicine in Enterprise, Alabama, was recognized for her contributions to medicine and patient care. Jordan earned an undergraduate degree in Athletic Training from UA. She received her medical degree from the University of Alabama School of Medicine as part of the College’s Rural Medical Scholars Program. In addition to her residency training, Jordan also completed a sports medicine fellowship under the instruction of Drs. James Andrews and Larry Lemak at the American Sports Medicine Institute in Birmingham. She joined Professional Medical Associates in Enterprise and also accepted Clinical Assistant Professorship status at the School of Medicine so that she could continue to work with medical students and residents. She serves as the team physician for Enterprise High School and on the Medical Center Enterprise board of directors. Jordan has continued to serve in leadership roles in the medical profession. In 2009, she was elected president of the Alabama Academy of Family Physicians and currently serves on its board. She was elected vice speaker of the Medical Association of the State of Alabama in 2012 and went on to serve as speaker of the House of Delegates and College of Counselors until 2016. She served on Alabama’s delegation to the American Medical Association from 2013 until this year. She currently serves on the Alabama Joint Committee for Collaborative Practice and the Alabama State Committee of Public Health. In 2014, Jordan received the University of Alabama School of Medicine Young Alumnus of the Year Award, and in 2015 received The University of Alabama Jack Davis Professional Achievement Award.
College faculty, departments honored with Argus Awards Students from the University of Alabama School of Medicine have named faculty and clinical departments on the Tuscaloosa Regional Campus winners of the 2018 Argus Awards. The College of Community Health Sciences, which operates The University of Alabama Family Medicine Residency and University Medical Center, also serves as the School of Medicine’s Tuscaloosa Regional Campus and provides clinical education for a portion of third- and fourth-year medical students. Drs. Charles Gross, Catherine Ikard and Heather Taylor received best Clinical Educator Awards. Their respective departments – Surgery, Neurology and Pediatrics – received Best Clinical Department Awards. The Argus Awards give medical student the chance to honor their mentors, professors, courses and course directors for outstanding service to medical education.
Publications Dr. Anne Halli-Tierney, assistant professor of Family, Internal, and Rural Medicine for the College of Community Health Sciences and a practicing geriatrician at University Medical Center, published a book chapter, “Ethical issues in palliative and end-of-life care,” with co-authors Amy Albright, Deanna Dragan, Megal Lippe and Rebecca Allen in Palliative and End of Life Care: Disease, Social and Cultural Context, edited by Rebecca Allen, Brian Carpenter and Morgan Eichorst. Dr. Pamela Payne-Foster, a professor of Community Medicine and Population Health for the College of Community Health Sciences, authored “Preparation and Planning for Future Care in the Deep South: Adapting a Validated Tool for Cultural Sensitivity, with Rebecca Allen, JoAnn Oliver, Morgan Eichorst, Lisa Mieskowski and Silvia Sorensen, to be published in The Gerontologist.