Chief residents named for 2017-18 academic year

May 1, 2017

Three resident physicians in the College’s Family Medicine Residency were selected chief residents for the 2017-2018 academic year. They are Drs. Steven Kelton, Brianna Kendrick and Natalie Kuijpers. Residency Director Dr. Richard Friend says the three have demonstrated academic and clinical excellence as well as an ability to work well with team members. They were selected by their peers. The College’s residency is a three-year program that provides specialized training in the discipline of family medicine. The residency is the second largest family medicine residency in the nation and one of the oldest. Kelton received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Waterloo in Ontario, Canada. He earned a master’s degree in Adolescent Education from D’Youville College in Buffalo, New York. He earned his medical degree from the Medical University of the Americas in Nevis, West Indies. Kendrick received her bachelor’s degree in Psychology from the University of Louisville in Kentucky. She completed medical school at the Kentucky College of Osteopathic Medicine at the University of Pikeville. Kuijpers received her bachelor’s degree from Queen’s University in Kingston Ontario, Canada, and a degree in X-ray technology from Eastern Ontario School of X-ray Technology. She earned her medical degree from St. George’s University in Granada, West Indies. The three will replace current chief residents Drs. Shawanda Agnew, Carrie Coxwell and Blake DeWitt.