Chief Residents Selected for 2020–2021

August 7, 2020

The Tuscaloosa Family Medicine Residency Program has selected chief residents for the 2020-2021 academic year, and their areas of responsibility.

The new chief residents are: Dr. Morgan Benefield for recruitment and conferences; Dr. Nathan Boles for schedules, policies and clinic; Dr. April Frater for hospital, committees, quality improvement and patient safety; and Dr. Melissa Smith for curriculum, research, quality improvement and student engagement.

They will succeed current chief residents, Drs. Meghan Bonds, Larab Ahmed, Ben Lee and Tony Johnson.

The Tuscaloosa Family Medicine Residency Program, a three-year program for physicians seeking to specialize in the practice of family medicine, is one of the oldest and largest family medicine residencies in the U.S.

Morgan Lea Benefield, MD

Morgan Lea Benefield, MD

Recruitment and Conferences
Nathan_Boles, MD

Nathan Boles, MD

Schedules, Policies and Clinic
April Frater, MD

April Frater, MD

Hospital, Committees, Quality Improvement and Patient Safety
Melissa_Smith, MD

Melissa Smith, MD

Curriculum, Research, Quality Improvement and Student Engagement