College Faculty Honored at 2020 Argus Awards Ceremony

November 5, 2020

Students at the University of Alabama School of Medicine have named faculty, residents and clinical departments, including those on the Tuscaloosa Regional Campus, winners of the 2020 Argus Awards.

“This is a fantastic honor and represents time, dedication and commitment to our learners,” said Dr. Richard Friend, dean of CCHS.

The College of Community Health Sciences also functions as the Tuscaloosa Regional Campus of in its role as a provider of clinical education to a portion of third- and fourth-year School of Medicine students.

Created in 1996, the Argus Awards allow medical students to nominate faculty members, courses and course directors for their outstanding service to medical education. Faculty members are nominated by course evaluations, and students vote to select award winners in each category.

Argus Award winners were honored during a live ceremony on Zoom on Oct. 27.

The Tuscaloosa Regional Campus winners of the 2020 Argus Awards are:

Best Clinical Department: Pediatrics

Best Clinical Educator: Dr. Heather Taylor, associate professor, Department of Pediatrics

Best Resident Educator: Dr. Joshua Price, resident, The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Family Medicine Residency Program

Best Community-Based Educator: Dr. Quinton Matthews, surgery