Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

CCHS is committed to a collaborative and equitable community that values and fosters diversity and inclusion.

CCHS recognizes the importance of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in accomplishing our mission of: “Improving and promoting the health of individuals and communities in rural Alabama and the Southeast region through leadership in medical and health-related education, primary care and population health; the provision of high quality, accessible health care services; and research and scholarship.” We embrace The University of Alabama’s core values of “respect and a culture of inclusivity” and the UA Strategic Plan goal to “enrich our learning environment by providing an accepting, inclusive community that attracts and supports a diversity faculty, staff and student body.” For more information, please get in touch with us at cchsdei@ua.edu or visit the UA DEI Office website.

Programming and Capacity Building

CCHS DEI provides a number of programming and capacity building opportunities for our employees. These include “Everyday Bias for Health Care Professionals Trainings,” “Safe Zone Trainings” and Heritage/History Month Events.

Recruitment and Retention

CCHS DEI collaborates with various groups across the College and the Institution to continuously improve recruitment and retention efforts of diverse faculty, staff and trainees.

Environment and Culture

At CCHS, we are committed to promoting a culture of inclusivity and health equity for our College and our community with ongoing teaching, service and research opportunities across the health care continuum.

Disparities Art Exhibit Sparks Discussion

CCHS DEI Committee members visited the Paul R. Jones Museum in Tuscaloosa in May 2022 to view the Celestia Morgan: Disparities Exhibit. Morgan is a postdoctoral research associate at The University of Alabama, and her work has been featured at the Birmingham Museum and the Ogden Museum of Southern Art in New Orleans. Committee members explored Morgan’s work, which displays historically deep-rooted inequalities related to housing and other basic life necessities, and engaged in robust conversations about the implications of disparities in America, Alabama and the Tuscaloosa area.

Redline

Celestia Morgan


Committee Members

Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH

Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH

Associate Dean, Research and Health Policy

(205) 348-7802

mrcrowther@ua.edu

Tiffaney Davis

Tiffaney Davis

(205) 348-6012

tsdavis9@ua.edu

Pamela Payne-Foster, MD, MPH

Pamela Payne-Foster, MD, MPH

Professor

(205) 348-5148

ppayne-foster@ua.edu

Brian Gannon, MD

Brian Gannon, MD

Associate Professor

(205) 348-0113

bsgannon@ua.edu

Anne Halli-Tierney, MD

Anne Halli-Tierney, MD

Assistant Residency Director for CLER, Geriatric Fellowship Director

(205) 348-2882

halli002@bama.ua.edu

Kirsten Henry, MBA

Kirsten Henry, MBA

FIRM Administrative Director

(205) 348-8397

kirsten.henry@ua.edu

Suzanne Henson, RD, LD

Suzanne Henson, RD, LD

Registered Dietitian

(205) 348-1255

shenson@ua.edu

Angela Hunter

Angela Hunter

(205) 348-5342

alhunter1@ua.edu

James Leeper, PhD

James Leeper, PhD

Professor Emeritus

(205) 348-1355

jleeper@cchs.ua.edu

Cynthia Moore

Cynthia Moore

Assistant Director

(205) 348-3116

cmoore@ua.edu

Mercedes Morales-Aleman, PhD

Mercedes Morales-Aleman, PhD

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-4861

mmmoralesaleman@ua.edu

Dimetra Rollins

Dimetra Rollins

dmrollins@bama.ua.edu

Thaddeus Ulzen, MD

Thaddeus Ulzen, MD

Professor, Department Chair

(205) 348-1325

tulzen@ua.edu

Nelle Williams, MSLS

Nelle Williams, MSLS

Associate Professor
Director, Health Sciences Library

(205) 348-1364

ntwilliams1@ua.edu

Andrea Wright, MLIS

Andrea Wright, MLIS

Clinical/Technical Services Librarian, Associate Professor

(205) 348-1335

alwright1@ua.edu