DEVELOPMENT!!!
Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

CCHS is committed to a collaborative and equitable community that values and fosters diversity and inclusion.

CCHS recognizes the importance of Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) in accomplishing our mission of “improving and promoting the health of individuals and communities in Alabama and the region through leadership in medical education and primary care; the provision of high quality, accessible health care services, and scholarship.”

We embrace the University of Alabama’s core values of “respect and a culture of inclusivity” and the UA Strategic Plan goal to “enrich our learning environment by providing an accepting, inclusive community that attracts and supports a diversity faculty, staff and student body.”

For more information please get in touch with us at cchsdei@ua.edu.

Programming and Capacity Building

CCHS DEI provides a number of programming and capacity building opportunities for our employees. These include “Everyday Bias for Health Care Professionals Trainings”, “Safe Zone Trainings” and Heritage/History Month Events.

Recruitment and Retention

CCHS DEI collaborates with various groups across the College and the Institution to continuously improve recruitment and retention efforts of diverse faculty, staff and trainees.

Environment and Culture

At CCHS, we are committed to promoting a culture of inclusivity and health equity for our College and our community with ongoing teaching, service and research opportunities across the health care continuum.

to come: resources from Nelle

to come: events

to come: title ix reporting


Committee Members

missing do not at the moment have pages: Kirsten Henry, Angela Hunter, Cynthia Moore, Dimetra Rollins, Jennifer Wright
Carmen Collins, MD

Carmen Collins, MD

PGY-3
Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH

Martha Crowther, PhD, MPH

Associate Dean, Research and Health Policy

mrcrowther@ua.edu

Pamela Payne-Foster, MD, MPH

Pamela Payne-Foster, MD, MPH

Professor

(205) 348-5148

ppayne-foster@ua.edu

Brian Gannon, MD

Brian Gannon, MD

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-0113

bsgannon@ua.edu

Anne Halli-Tierney, MD

Anne Halli-Tierney, MD

Assistant Professor, Geriatric Fellowship Director

(205) 348-2882

halli002@bama.ua.edu

Suzanne Henson, RD, MS

Suzanne Henson, RD, MS

Registered Dietitian

shenson@ua.edu

James Leeper, PhD

James Leeper, PhD

Professor Emeritus

(205) 348-1355

jleeper@cchs.ua.edu

Mercedes Morales-Aleman, PhD

Mercedes Morales-Aleman, PhD

Assistant Professor

(205) 348-4861

mmmoralesaleman@ua.edu

Raheem Paxton, PhD

Raheem Paxton, PhD

Associate Professor

(205) 348-6857

rpaxton@ua.edu

Thaddeus Ulzen, MD

Thaddeus Ulzen, MD

Associate Dean, Academic Affairs

(205) 348-1325

tulzen@ua.edu

Nelle Williams, MSLS

Nelle Williams, MSLS

Director, Health Sciences Library

(205) 348-1364

ntwilliams1@ua.edu

Andrea Wright, MLIS

Andrea Wright, MLIS

Clinical/Technical Services Librarian, Associate Professor

(205) 348-1335

alwright1@ua.edu