Graduating medical students celebrated at College convocation

May 31, 2017

Twenty-nine graduating medical students were honored at Senior Convocation, hosted by the College of Community Health Sciences May 19 at the Tuscaloosa River Market. Now physicians, the students are beginning their residency training in programs across 17 states. The University of Alabama School of Medicine students completed their third and fourth years of clinical education at the College, which also functions as the Tuscaloosa Regional Campus for the School of Medicine. All students spend their first two years of medical school at the School of Medicine’s main campus in Birmingham, and then receive their clinical education at either the Birmingham campus or one of the regional campuses – Tuscaloosa, Huntsville and Montgomery. The Tuscaloosa Regional Campus students also received awards at the Convocation from faculty, clinical staff and their peers. Scholarships were also presented. On Saturday, May 20, the students joined their 158 classmates for commencement in Birmingham.   Awards given at Convocation: Department and College Awards: Robert F. Gloor Award in Community Medicine Dr. Jessica Powell Awarded for excellent performance in Community and Rural Medicine William Owings Award in Family Medicine Dr. Jessica Powell Awarded for excellence in Family Medicine Recognition of Rural Medical Scholars Drs. Daniel Stanley, Scott Thomas, Jessica Powell, Amanda Turner Shaw and Caitlin Tidwell Family/Rural Medicine Preceptor’s Award Dr. Larry Skelton Awarded annually to a community preceptor in Family Medicine/Community and Rural Medicine who exemplifies excellent teaching and role modeling for students. William Winternitz Award in Internal Medicine Dr. Steve Allon Awarded for outstanding achievement in Internal Medicine during the third and fourth years. This student possesses an exceptional wealth of knowledge, is able to integrate the pathology of disease with the physiology of clinical skills, and practices with empathy, compassion and a desire to improve the patients with whom he or she comes in contact. Neurology Award Dr. Scott Thomas Awarded for outstanding academic and clinical performance during the Neurology Clerkship. Pediatrics Recognition Award Dr. Maria Gulas Awarded for outstanding interest, ability and the reflection of pleasure in helping parents and their children reach their full personal, social and educational potential. Peter Bryce Award in Psychiatry Dr. Caitlin Tidwell Awarded for excellence exhibited by a medical student both academically and clinically during his/her Psychiatry Clerkship. This award is presented in honor of Dr. Peter Bryce, who was appointed the first superintendent of Bryce Hospital in Tuscaloosa. He and his wife, Ellen Clarkson Bryce, were cornerstones for Tuscaloosa society and tenacious advocates for people who experience mental illness. Finney/Akers Memorial Award in Obstetrics and Gynecology Dr. Chelsea Turgeon Awarded to a student achieving outstanding academic and clinical success in Obstetrics and Gynecology. This award is presented in honor of former medical students James H. Akers and Teresa K. Finney. William R. Shamblin, MD, Surgery Award Dr. Julia Stiegler Awarded to a student with the highest scholastic achievement during his or her third-year Surgery Clerkship. Dr. William R. Shamblin, a Tuscaloosa native and former Chair of the Department of Surgery, spent years educating medical students and Family Medicine residents. This award continues in his honor. Interprofessional Excellence Award Dr. Scott Thomas This award recognizes the medical student who has best demonstrated excellence in communication skills, respect for staff and patients, and a commitment to working as an effective member of the health care team. Larry Mayes Research Society Scholars Drs. Chelsea Turgeon and Andrew Watson Official Fellow Members: Drs. Danielle Fincher, Caroline Watson, Reaves Crabtree, Julia Stiegler and Roshmi Bhattacharya Student Research Award Dr. Jessica Powell Recognition of the pursuit of one or more research projects leading to a presentation or publication during the clinical years of medical training. Scholastic Achievement Award Dr. Caroline Kennemer Awarded for superior performance in the clinical curriculum. William R. Willard Award Dr. Danielle Fincher Established by the Bank of Moundville, this award is presented for outstanding contributions to the goals and mission of the College of Community Health Sciences as voted by the College faculty.   Faculty, Resident and Student Awards as determined by the graduating class Faculty Recognition Award Dr. Joseph Wallace Awarded for outstanding contributions to undergraduate medical education during students’ junior year. Community Preceptor Heroes Award Drs. Bradley Bilton, Julia Boothe, Scott Boyken, Scott Davidson, Charles Gross, William Lenahan, Quinton Mathews and JD Shugrue Awarded to community preceptors for outstanding contributions to undergraduate medical education. Patrick McCue Award Dr. A. Robert Sheppard Awarded for outstanding contributions to undergraduate medical education during students’ senior year. Resident Recognition Award Dr. Blake DeWitt Awarded for outstanding contributions to medical education. James H. Akers Memorial Award Dr. Nathan Sherrer Awarded to a graduating senior for dedication to the art and science of medicine.   College Scholarships Dr. Benjamin Collins Maxwell Endowed Scholarship Dr. Ben Lee Dr. Benjamin Collins Maxwell was a pioneer in Family Medicine practice who trained many Tuscaloosa medical students and family medicine residents in his practice in Atmore, Alabama. He was renowned for the degree of interest, patience and compassion he had for his patients. This scholarship was endowed by Dr. David and Mrs. Regina Maxwell to honor the legacy of Dr. Maxwell and of all primary care physicians, and to support the Rural Medical Scholars Program and academic excellence within the College of Community Health Sciences. Priority is given to graduating medical students who plan to practice rural primary care in Alabama, with a special consideration for students from Escambia County and the Rural Medical Scholars Program. Reese Phifer, Jr., Memorial Foundation Scholarship in CCHS Dr. Jessica Powell The Reese Phifer Jr. Memorial Foundation Endowed Scholarship is awarded annually to promote the education of medical students at the College of Community Health Sciences/University of Alabama School of Medicine-Tuscaloosa Regional Campus. The Foundation was established by Mr. and Mrs. Reese Phifer in 1967 in memory of their son J. Reese Phifer, Jr., a student at The University of Alabama who died in 1964. The Foundation established the scholarship fund in 2014. Priority is given to current fourth-year medical students who intend to complete their residency at The University of Alabama Family Medicine Residency, which the college operates, and who have an interest in spending part of their residency training in Fayette, Alabama. Robert E. Pieroni, MD, and Family Endowed Scholarship Dr. Danielle Fincher The Robert E. Pieroni, MD, and Family Endowed Scholarship was established by Dr. and Mrs. Robert Pieroni to support medical students intending to enter primary care.