The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Family Medicine Residency Program Directors

Dr. William Hubbard 1973-1974
Dr. Richard Rutland (acting) 1974-1975
Dr. William deShazo 1975-1978
Dr. Russell Anderson 1978-1981
Dr. Samuel Gaskins 1981-1994
Dr. Alan Maxwell (interim) 1994-1995
Dr. Marc Armstrong 1995-1999
Dr. Samuel Gaskins 1999-2003
Dr. Chelley Alexander 2004-2006
Dr. John B. Waits 2006-2011
Dr. Chelley Alexander 2011-2013
Dr. Richard Friend 2013-2018
Dr. Tamer Elsayed 2018-present